Getting Healthy

Be The Reason Someone Smiles

Life can be trying at times. I am an introvert and so there are choices I have to make on a regular basis. Will I choose to be positive, happy, friendly and out of my comfort zone? Will I choose to be inward, withdrawn, quiet and comfortable? Of course I would always be happy to stay in my safe zone but I don’t want people who don’t know me to think I don’t care! 

I have a huge heart. I wear my emotions on my sleeve (and face) a lot of the time. I have to make the decision to be smiling because otherwise I look like I don’t care, am rushed, rude, and unhappy. I really do care about people. I want to be a person that when you see me, you walk away feeling better! I want to be the reason you smile.

I care about you. I care about your health. I care about your family. I care about you worries, and what you need prayers for. I do not care if you are purple, pink, Christian, Muslim, male, female, gay, straight or anything in between. I care about you and where you are at in your life! 

Have you ever looked at a person and just found something so beautiful about them? Did you take the time to tell them? This is something I am trying to do. It is a huge step for me. You look at a person and have no idea what their life is like. Your comment, your words may stay with them forever. They could be having the worst day of their life, and you seeing something beautiful about them and then telling them could help them. It could carry them through a really hard time. It does not matter that I an introvert, I should want to show kindness and love to everyone I meet. 

I don’t always do it though. I am afraid. I prefer to stay in my comfort zone.

So often we are worried about what others will think of us if we say something or do something. We live in a world that thrives on competition, mistrust and disbelief. Women especially feel they need to compete with those around them. Am I wearing the right shirt, pants, shoes, make-up, and the list goes on. We are so concerned with what others think.

How would you feel if another woman came up to you and gave you a complement when you felt and looked your worse? We should be lifting others up, even if we do not know them! Men and women should be lifting each other up. I may not have the best of everything and I may not look my best all the time, but I can be the best me all the time. 

We are all individuals. We are all beautiful in our own way. When I look in the mirror, often I am taken back to the past. I hear past words from others. It doesn’t have to be about anything in particular, just cutting words, looks or actions that have stayed with me. How many of us have those negative things in our life? I am sure we all have something we see or hear from out past.

Why do we look back? Why do we allow ourselves to go back there? Life is a journey! We should always be moving forward. Unless you want to move backwards in your life, there is no point in going back there and reliving it. Maybe the person you told had an amazing smile was told long ago they had a hideous smile. Maybe the person who was skipping through the parking lot and you told them you loved their youthful spirit was told to stop acting like a child not long ago. 

Your words, your actions, you reaching out can have a tremendous impact on someone’s life. You could stop them from looking backwards at their past and you could be the person who gets them going forward. When you feel the urge to tell something you love about them, do it. You never know if you are going to change their life.

So many of us never leave our comfort zone. It makes me wonder what I missed so often because I was content to be inward. How many friendships did I miss out on? How many lives did I miss out on complimenting? While I can’t go backward and rewrite my past, I can give the ending of my life a different outcome! I can choose to step out and smile. I can choose to tell someone I love their hair color. I can choose to tell someone I love the patience they have with their children. 

I can choose to be a happier person. I can choose to let others know I care about them with a smile. Life is about choices. Are you going to be the person who make someone smile? I am not going to worry about those around me. I was not put here to compete with others, I was put here to love others. 

I am going to be the best person I can be and I am going to bloom. I am not going to look back because I am not heading that way. I am going to change how my life is going. I don’t have to be stuck on the path I have been on and neither do you. Life is about choices. Life is about changes. Life is about loving others around you and loving yourself.

Are you an introvert? Are you trying to change that in public? What kind of things are you doing to help you change? I am making an effort. I want to be the person who makes you smile. I want to be the person who noticed you. I want to be your pick me up and I want you to know I care about you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.